Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
If you have enough memory you can run Windows and Linux at the same time using VMware server (it's free). I recommend 1Gig min. BTW you can also run Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104

    If you have enough memory you can run Windows and Linux at the same time using VMware server (it's free). I recommend 1Gig min.

    BTW you can also run Linux from a Windows Desktop but then who would want to.

    You can copy and paste between OS's. Also connect by the virtual network connection.

    You have not lived until you see Windows boot into a window on the Linux Desktop

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie Geeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Aus
    Posts
    176
    I used to work for a company that had the same issue with browser based apps not working in anything but IE.
    Though for a number of them opera worked, not all but most.

  3. #13
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478
    Do you specifically require IE7? If not, like suggested, ies4linux is a very valid option!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer oldcpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,142

    ies4liux

    Quote Originally Posted by netstrider View Post
    Do you specifically require IE7? If not, like suggested, ies4linux is a very valid option!
    As netstrider noted if you are happy with IE 5, 5.5, or 6, you can use ies4linux:
    Installation - IEs4Linux

    Having stated the above, I have read that ie7 will run with a hack:
    IEs 4 Linux News » Extra! Extra! IE7 running on Linux!

    Note, I myself prefer the firefox browser, where it runs natively on Linux.

  6. #15
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478
    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Note, I myself prefer the firefox browser, where it runs natively on Linux.
    He uses Firefox too, but requires IE for some Australian site or something... Just wondering if it is specifically IE7, I doubt it...

  7. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    414
    I have IE7 installed on Linux using IEs4Linux, I use it for testing sites and only when I have to.

  8. #17
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Just wondering if it is specifically IE7, I doubt it...
    There are, unfortunately, still some sites that can only be viewed properly in IE. They are very rare, though, and I leave them the minute they tell me I'm using the 'wrong' browser!
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •