Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all. I'm Crowbar and I'm a Windows junkie. However, a completely new machine has rendered my borrowed copy of WinXP useless, and I have purchased SuSE 9.1 Professional. And ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Brand spanking new to Linux

Hello all. I'm Crowbar and I'm a Windows junkie. However, a completely new machine has rendered my borrowed copy of WinXP useless, and I have purchased SuSE 9.1 Professional. And now I'm in over my head. So I have a few newbie questions for you, I appreciate any help. Yes, I have read the manuals and done some research, but as I said, I'm a total Linux newbie and it's taking awhile to get the hang of how things work. I'm using KDE, by the way.
    My questions are:

1. How do I make the bookmarks toolbar go away in Konqueror without right clicking and removing it every new window?

2. I'm trying to install Unreal Tournament 2004 (6CD version). I copied the "linux-install" file to my home directory, and ran it from there, however I only get through CD1, upon inserting CD2 I can't continue the installation. The readme for UT2004 said to make sure I can mount discs, do I need to mount all 6 discs completely onto the hard drive before install?

3. How does WINE work and how do I install it?

4. SuSE is telling me that my 9800 Pro doesn't support 3D Acceleration, I assume I need some drivers. I downloaded the drivers from the ATI site in RPM format, and I thought I installed them, at least I now have ATI Control in my SuSE menu, but I still can't use 3D Acceleration. How do I fix this?

5. How do I clean out internet history, typed addresses, and the Konqueror cache?

Any and all help is appreciated. Hopefully when I get a handle on this I can be of help to others as well, but for now, I'm lost and confused.

1,5) They are in the Konqueror configuration (Tools menu, I believe).