Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
I will try that with the cd. I have tried failsafe mode without it but received the same error. Using the cli yast method set to gnome I just got ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Von
    Von is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9

    I will try that with the cd.

    I have tried failsafe mode without it but received the same error.

    Using the cli yast method set to gnome I just got into gnome's failsafe mode. The thing is I'm not familiar with gnome at all. I'll try to find my way from here, I should be able to pull that off. Thanks for everything man. I was about to give up and install nimbleX and give that a go.

  2. #12
    Von
    Von is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9
    All is well. Thank you again.

    I logged out of gnome's failsafe mode and set kde4 as the default manager.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,994
    I've been searching threads for you. One last stab here

    Lack of GUI login after upgrade - SuSE v10.0 to openSuSE v 10.2

    Posts 4 and 5 talk about kdm and gdm as being kde and gnome windows managers.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  4. #14
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,994
    You got it working? How about detailing what you had to do so other guys with this problem will look to you as their savior. Good to hear by the way.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #15
    Von
    Von is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9
    I saw alot of the same things when I looked around for it. That whole ordeal actually started 4 days ago. I was even in the cli version of yast right after then but I couldn't find the DISPLAY MANAGER. That was tough.

  6. #16
    Von
    Von is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9
    In one post it the fix goes like this...

    After booting,
    Get to a gray cli (ctrl+F1).
    Login and type su (to enter super user mode) then your password.
    Type yast (to enter a cli version of it).
    Go down to system and press the right arrow key to highlight /etc/sysconfig Editor.
    Press enter.
    On the next screen press tab 4 times to highlight Search, press enter.
    Type DISPLAY MANAGER.
    Press tab 4 times to highlight ok, press enter.
    On the next screen DISPLAYMANAGER should be yellow and at the bottom "Go to" should be highlighted, press enter.
    Press tab 3 times to get highlight the text field next to the word Default, enter your desired display manager (i used gdm for gnome) and press tab to highlight Default, press enter.
    Press tab 5 times to highlight Finish, press enter.
    When the command line comes back up reboot.

    In my case, this booted to Gnome's failsafe mode.
    From there I logged out of the session, which brought up the login screen, where I selected KDE 4 and logged in as usual.
    And there was much rejoicing.

    I hope this helps anyone who may need it.

  7. #17
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    3,994
    Way to go Von. Might want to use this next time before changing Desktops maybe.

    YaST/Modules/System Backup - openSUSE
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •