Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello all. I am new to Linux and after trying several distros (from Puppy to Gentoo) I have ended up with Suse 11.0 running KDE4 primarily. I have already figured ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Von
    Just Joined!

Desktop Manager Newb Help

Hello all.

I am new to Linux and after trying several distros (from Puppy to Gentoo) I have ended up with Suse 11.0 running KDE4 primarily. I have already figured out how to do some things like configure ndiswrapper, navigate the terminal, install GNOME, and many less challenging new tasks. Sadly though, I have hit a snag that I cannot bypass.

After getting GNOME up and running I decided to check out the other desktop environments that came with Suse, like Fluxbox and Enlightenment. I have my login manager setup to bypass the password screen and just boot into KDE4, which I now know is not a good idea when trying new desktop environments, other newbs be advised. I started an environment that I cannot remember the name of, KDM...maybe.

When this environment loaded all I can see is a black screen and the cursor. This part is going to sound bad but...I have tried hitting every button I could see, including holding Ctrl-Shift first. Nothing responds, except Ctrl+Alt+F1 through F8 , and Ctrl+Alt+F10. The first of these brings up a terminal style view, and F10 brings up some kind of log screen.

Under Ctrl+Alt+F1 I have tried things like startkde and startkde4 but I receive an error stating that $DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the X server. trying the command "gnome" returns: (gnome-session:3253): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: .