Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all; (thank you for this forum). I'm new to linux. windoze user now, former mac user. I'm trying to boot from the kde opensuse cd I just made. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux login: what to type here?

Hi all; (thank you for this forum).

I'm new to linux. windoze user now, former mac user.

I'm trying to boot from the kde opensuse cd I just made.

I am prompted with this:
    linux login:_

What do I type here to get the os to finish loading so I can test drive this distro please?

Thanks for any help.

mo.

Just Joined!
    The official release of openSUSE does not request a user ID. You should probably download again from the proper source (Download - openSUSE) and try again

I hope this helps.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by delovelady View Post
    The official release of openSUSE does not request a user ID. You should probably download again from the proper source (Download - openSUSE) and try again

I hope this helps.
    Hi delovelady;

Thanks for the prompt reply.
    I downloaded the iso file from here:
    openSUSE.org

I clicked on "Get It" which took me here:
    Software.openSUSE.org

That's where I could choose from:
    "Live CD GNOME (664 MB)" or
    "Live CD KDE 4 (644 MB)"

I clicked the kde one, got the iso file, and made the live cd.

The link you just gave me takes me to a different page, and I'm going to try downloading from there, and make a new copy.

Thanks again for your help.

mo.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    k, I'm back.

The iso file I'm about to download is the same identical file I downloaded before, and is coming from the same location here:
    http://download.opensuse.org/distrib...D-i386.torrent

So, apparently I have the right file ?
    But I'm still getting that "linux login" prompt prior to fully loading.

Any ideas anyone?