Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys, i cant really explain how great and helpful you guys are, you just make the Linux world more interesting to newbies like me, My concern now is multimedia ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Multimedia Support With Suse11

Hi Guys,
    i cant really explain how great and helpful you guys are, you just make the Linux world more interesting to newbies like me,
    My concern now is multimedia support in SUSE11, im new to SUSE11 because i was currently using fedora 7 on my machine, but i kinna got interested in SUSE11, but then i still have trouble with most multimedia applications, for example i cant play my avi files or even dvd files or wnv files, i know there are alot of plugins missing, but i cant tell how to get them, coz in my fedora i used to solve the problem by iissuing one command
    Code:
    yum install kdemultimedia-extras-nonfree
    and all the multimedia would be sorted out, how do i do this in SUSE11, and also, is there support for VLC player in SUSE11?
    Thank you all.

I haven't used SUSE in a while but I think this might help :-

Open Suse 11 Multimedia Pack Portable 2008 - openSUSE Forums

Traditionally you'd have to use the Packman/Guru repositories to get the codecs but I hope this works out nicely .

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    What you need to do is go to YaST -> Software -> Community Repositories and enable the Packman repository. After that go to YaST -> Software -> Software Management and select VLC for installation. If you like Xine based apps, select libxine for installation and it willreplace the crippled xine package shipped by openSUSE.

Just Joined!

Zip files not available

Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney View Post
    I haven't used SUSE in a while but I think this might help :-

Open Suse 11 Multimedia Pack Portable 2008 - openSUSE Forums