Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, was fed up with uncle bill and his cronies at MS and wanted to give linux a try much to the detriment of my home life as wife and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

newbie linx user highjacked

Hi,
    was fed up with uncle bill and his cronies at MS and wanted to give linux a try much to the detriment of my home life as wife and kids couldnt be bothered learning new system but seems as if it slapped me in the face as some low life has hacked me and changed the kernel name. As I am new to linux I don't have a clue what they have access to and where to start with protection, any help would be greatly apprieciatied

Are you sure that is what has happened rather than some other config failure?

Do you have a live CD to boot from while you work out what has happened?

If you have been hacked then a fresh install is the only sure way to fix things ... but you need to ensure you can avoid problems in future.

Look at the security info here before you re-install. During the install make sure you configure the firewall which you get with openSUSE correctly, use good passwords (particularly for root, dont login as root for normal user activities etc.

oz
    forum.guy
    Yep, far more likely to be a configuration error, unless you've been giving others access to your machine.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Thanks Guys,
    I Installed Suse11 before i got your reply (jumped the gun as I felt exposed) think i need more experience with linux( but time is a problem, I think this is what MS feeds on) Just for the record my terminal name was changed and the system showed 2 users when only I was using the terminal, was it a config issue?

Quote Originally Posted by dave major View Post
    Thanks Guys,