Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi everyone, I have problems with java 1.6 on suse 10.0 Installing is incomplete in a sense that when in the terminal, it says that java 1.6 is already installed, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! _artistmonk_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    6

    Problems installing Java 1.6 on Suse 10.0


    Hi everyone,

    I have problems with java 1.6 on suse 10.0
    Installing is incomplete in a sense that when in the terminal, it says that java 1.6 is already installed, jave-verification shows that my browser still uses java 1.4



    can anyone help me? I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.
    Last edited by _artistmonk_; 01-03-2009 at 03:12 AM. Reason: Rephrase

  2. #2
    Just Joined! garikfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    20
    Hmmm....

    I think the 1.6java Doesnt that need a *-plugin.rpm for that ?

    If not there should ne a libjava*.so to drag to the plugin folder of your "Mozilla/Firefox"

    Srry, Im new to this, Just trying to help, lol

  3. #3
    Just Joined! _artistmonk_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by garikfox View Post
    Hmmm....

    I think the 1.6java Doesnt that need a *-plugin.rpm for that ?

    If not there should ne a libjava*.so to drag to the plugin folder of your "Mozilla/Firefox"

    Srry, Im new to this, Just trying to help, lol
    Yes, while symbolic linking in the terminal, it says that the path for the plugin is missing. What did I miss?

  4. #4
    Just Joined! garikfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    20
    I'n openSUSE 11.1, Add the "Community" as a Repository. (Add ALL you want etc.)

    Now, Take a look at Update........

    Once done etc....Goto "Available" Put in the search box java, Now look for your "JAVA 1.6-plugin etc...If its not fixed already.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! _artistmonk_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    6

    Solved!

    First, I unsinstalled the Java 1.4 through YasT. Then, I installed the Java 1.6 (.bin format) through Gnome terminal. A step-by-step installation instruction is availbale in the java website.

    Next, I deleted the old symbolic links inside the firefox plugins folder. Then, I created a new symbolic link for firefox through Gnome terminal. A step-by-step symbolic linking instruction is availbale in the java website.

    DONE! Yay!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •