Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I have installed SuSE10 with Xen hypervisor. But I'm unable to create a Virtual Machine using Xen.Its showing the error "Unable to start VM"....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Problem with Xen


    I have installed SuSE10 with Xen hypervisor. But I'm unable to create a Virtual Machine using Xen.Its showing the error "Unable to start VM".

  2. #2
    nrk
    nrk is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    restart the system

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ghana, Accra
    Posts
    9
    Hi lijachandran,
    Well, i haven't tried xen on suse 10 but rather tried it on suse11
    when rebooting your system and it gets to the bootloader, try to select xen and enter.
    After that try creating your VM.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Arrow Unable to Create VM

    Ya I'm logging into xen kernel only. Then also I'm unable to create a VM.The error occurs while giving the installation source of VM. Do u have any idea about this problem?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ghana, Accra
    Posts
    9
    Is "Unable to start VM" the only error?
    Can i know the full error message so we could know the specific
    problem.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    What processor are you using? Some processors can not handle VM's they do not have the needed extend instructions/functions

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10
    I'm using AMD Opteron processor, do u know whether it is incompatible with xen?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10
    ok I will explain the problem:

    First I've installed SLES10 in my system and while installation itself I selected Xen option. Then after rebooting I entered to Xen kernel and tried to create virtual machine using YaST->Virtualization->Create virtual Machines.
    I opted to install a new OS->SLES9->Then in Summary window in the installation source , I've given the path of CD from which I was trying to install SLES9. Then I got the error "Failed to startVM".
    I think its the problem with specifying installation source. can u please tell me , what should be given at installation source?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    Opteron should have no problem with VM's

    I use VMware Server It is a free download. If you can't get Xen to work try VMware.

    Also Suse 10.0 is a bit old you might want to try a version with a newer Kernel. THe Current Suse version is 11.1

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ghana, Accra
    Posts
    9
    Try using an image of the OS
    Place the image in a directory and point the installation source to the full path of that image file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •