Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I've made a backup of our Linux server with an Acronis startup rescue disk. The image went without any problems, and the restore has gone without any problems as well ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Arrow Restoring Linux with Acronis

I've made a backup of our Linux server with an Acronis startup rescue disk. The image went without any problems, and the restore has gone without any problems as well (restored to a VM).

What problems I am running into are actually getting the Linux box to boot now that it is restored on a VM. I run into some type of error no matter what method I use to try and get it booted. Here's what I've tried so far.

*Keep in mind I am an extreme Linux newbie. I have almost no knowledge of anything Linux at all.*

When I boot the VM, I get this (screen 1). So, it didn't just "boot up" from the recovery as I'd hoped it would.

The next thing was I popped in the SUSE CD and tried to do an Update through the install. Then I get what you see in screen 2.

I tried Repair Installed System through the CD installer also. I chose Automatic Repair. I answered yes to a few Swap questions. Then I get Screen 3 after it runs through a few things, then Screen 4 after I tell it to try to repair.

Any help here would be great. I feel it is really close to booting up and working, but I just don't know what else to do at this point to actually make it work since Linux is foreign to me.

I am wondering if going from real box to VM has confused it because of the "hardware" change. I read somewhere that recompiling the kernel will make it re-detect the hardware? I have no idea how to do that though, or if it is what I should attempt to do.

Any steps anyone recommends, you'll have to provide a guide with it because I don't know what I'm doing in this OS.
    Attached Images Attached Images