Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hello everyone, I am completely new to Linux and just got Suse 11.2 installed in my HP Pavilion dv4. Most of the devices are working properly except wireless connection. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9

    Wireless does not work


    Hello everyone,

    I am completely new to Linux and just got Suse 11.2 installed in my HP Pavilion dv4.
    Most of the devices are working properly except wireless connection.

    I would appreciate any guidance to get this issue solved.
    I am already researching on the internet, but I must admit it is a bit confusing for a total beginner.

    Thank you all!!!


    Edited
    Through my network connections, I can see the tab wireless is disabled. Does it mean the driver was not correctly installed? How can I install the compatible driver for my laptop?

    Thanks again!!!

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hello and Welcome.
    Start here and please post back the relevant info, the more you can help us...the more we can help you.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Hello and Welcome.
    Start here and please post back the relevant info, the more you can help us...the more we can help you.
    Thank you Mike!
    Please find the requested information


    00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a40] (rev 07)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2a42] (rev 07)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2a43] (rev 07)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    00:1a.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:2937] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1a.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:2938] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1a.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:293c] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:293e] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:2940] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:2942] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 [8086:2944] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 [8086:2946] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 [8086:2948] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    00:1c.5 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 6 [8086:294a] (rev 03)
    Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
    00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:2934] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:2935] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:2936] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.3 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 [8086:2939] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
    00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:293a] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev 93)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller [8086:2919] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller [8086:2929] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: ahci
    00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:2930] (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company BCM4312 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller [103c:137d]
    Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
    04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: r8169
    05:00.0 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. SD/MMC Host Controller [197b:2382]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: sdhci-pci
    05:00.2 SD Host controller [0805]: JMicron Technology Corp. Standard SD Host Controller [197b:2381]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    05:00.3 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. MS Host Controller [197b:2383]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]
    Kernel driver in use: jmb38x_ms
    05:00.4 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. xD Host Controller [197b:2384]
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:30f7]


    Thanks!!!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    You need the firmware installed, try this command please.
    Code:
    sudo /usr/bin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    You must have a wired connection for this to work. Post any errors or messages you get.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    You need the firmware installed, try this command please.
    Code:
    sudo /usr/bin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    You must have a wired connection for this to work. Post any errors or messages you get.
    sudo: /usr/bin/install_bcm43xx_firmware: command not found

    I have a wired connection working.
    Any idea Mike?

    Thanks!!!

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    I think that this is the correct command:
    Code:
    sudo /usr/sbin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    This may cure your wireless troubles, but unfortunately, it may not.

    It seems that there are two Broadcom chips with the name 4312. One of them works with the b43 driver (the firmware is for that one). The other uses the Broadcom-wl driver. This driver is installable from a third-party repository call Packman. If you still have problems, post back and we will advise further.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by waterhead View Post
    I think that this is the correct command:
    Code:
    sudo /usr/sbin/install_bcm43xx_firmware
    This may cure your wireless troubles, but unfortunately, it may not.

    It seems that there are two Broadcom chips with the name 4312. One of them works with the b43 driver (the firmware is for that one). The other uses the Broadcom-wl driver. This driver is installable from a third-party repository call Packman. If you still have problems, post back and we will advise further.
    Hello Paul,

    I ran it exactly as you said and the installation was successfully concluded, however WLAN still doesnt work.
    Concerning the Packman, could you please give me further information? I am a total beginner. hehehe

    Thanks!!!!

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    MikeTbob: I see that you must have gotten that command from my other post. My bad! I posted the wrong command! I corrected it in the other thread too.

    Thanks for (indirectly) pointing it out to me.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  10. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by familiavendetdo View Post
    Hello Paul,

    I ran it exactly as you said and the installation was successfully concluded, however WLAN still doesnt work.
    Concerning the Packman, could you please give me further information? I am a total beginner. hehehe

    Thanks!!!!
    What do you mean by, it doesn't work?
    Are you not seeing the device listed in the Network tool? What about the command line? Post the output of this command please.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    Yes Paul, I was copying from your post, I'm not too good with Suse...thanks for correcting.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    What do you mean by, it doesn't work?
    Are you not seeing the device listed in the Network tool? What about the command line? Post the output of this command please.
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    Yes Paul, I was copying from your post, I'm not too good with Suse...thanks for correcting.
    Hi again Mike,

    Here is the result

    # sudo ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1E:EC:88:17:1D
    inet addr:200.100.50.7 Bcast:200.100.50.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe88:171d/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2287 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1988 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:2348314 (2.2 Mb) TX bytes:230107 (224.7 Kb)
    Interrupt:31 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:195 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:195 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:12927 (12.6 Kb) TX bytes:12927 (12.6 Kb)

    When I said it is not working, I mean the Wireless tab in my network connection management is still disabled.

    Thanks so much for helping

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •