Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi guys, a really noob question I've got in stock. I need to setup my webcam to work with skype, but however I try the video is working fine but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    35

    Please help with setting up a webcam


    Hi guys, a really noob question I've got in stock.

    I need to setup my webcam to work with skype, but however I try the video is working fine but I can't make the microphone on the webcam to work.

    In my device list it goes as:

    USB Device 0x46d:0x990 (USB Audio).

    Code:
    linux-svh3:/home/cherep # lsusb
    ..........
    Bus 003 Device 005: ID 046d:0990 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000
    I've tried setting it as a preferred device for sound capture but it doesn't seem to work.

    I'm using SuSE 11.1 with KDE desktop environment.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    35
    Also guys I just want to check whether it is plugged into usb 1.1 or 2.0 but I can't get my head around the lsusb output

    Code:
    linux-svh3:/home/cherep # lsusb
    Bus 008 Device 003: ID 0bda:0111 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. Card Reader
    Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 002: ID 046d:c517 Logitech, Inc. LX710 Cordless Desktop Laser
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 004: ID 046d:0990 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000
    Bus 003 Device 003: ID 04fc:0c25 Sunplus Technology Co., Ltd
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 15a9:0004
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

  3. #3
    Just Joined! ironduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Queensland Australia
    Posts
    89
    Exact same problem: I fixed it by installing Opensuse 11.2

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    35
    thx ironduke, I have just downloaded OpenSuSE 11.2. I'll try installing it, hopefully it will help...

  5. #5
    Just Joined! ironduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Queensland Australia
    Posts
    89
    furthermore, once you install 11.2 (and skype) go to a terminal and enter
    Code:
     cat /proc/asound/cards
    you should see the following along with your other sound devices
    Code:
     1 [Q9000          ]: USB-Audio - QuickCam Pro 9000
                          Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000 at usb-0000:00:1a.7-6, high speed
    (post your own results for this, it all adds to the knowledge base)
    Next right click the volume control on the desktop (in Gnome.. I know nothing of KDE) go to preferences, click the Input tab, select Quickcam Pro 9000 Analog mono. You should see the input level meter react to any sound you make at the microphone.
    Then do a sound test in Skype.. it should now work.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    35
    Exact same problem: I fixed it by installing Opensuse 11.2
    It really did help! Now everything works just fine. Didn't even need to do any adjusting!

    (post your own results for this, it all adds to the knowledge base)
    Code:
    linux-svh3:/home/cherep # cat /proc/asound/cards
     0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                          HDA Intel at 0xf9ef4000 irq 22
     1 [Q9000          ]: USB-Audio - QuickCam Pro 9000
                          Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000 at usb-0000:00:1a.7-3, high speed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •