Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Well I've been going through last few days...And I found a bunch ofpackages such as java updates...And when I press to install it asks for DVD 1...I havent got a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Yast packages?

Well I've been going through last few days...And I found a bunch ofpackages such as java updates...And when I press to install it asks for DVD 1...I havent got a DVD...nor does my laptop take DVD's so I was just wondering sweather I'm doing something wrong? If so what's the correct thing to do?...Also this laptop has an in-build webcam....I was just wondering if there would be a package to install this in Yast since the laptop never detects it...Its a HP mini2133with SUSE linux 10...In case you couldnt tell im still a newbie to linux...this laptop is second hand aswell

Have you setup your repositories? If not you need to go in and uncheck the DVD one. How did you install. What it is asking for is the installation media.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Have you setup your repositories? If not you need to go in and uncheck the DVD one. How did you install. What it is asking for is the installation media.
    repositories? what are those? and well i og into yast i ticked the things i wanted and the pressed accept then it says "please wait while we install your packages" aat which point it asks fopr the dvd and i have to press abort

repositories are web sites where you get your newest packages and find software. You will see the setup right under Software management in Yast.

Just Joined!
    repositories are web sites where you get your newest packages and find software. You will see the setup right under Software management in Yast.
    Well...I don't know how to open yast...i can get into the software management which is yast 2