Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I foolishly changed the mount point of a partition on a HDD which Linux was not in fact using, and now when I try to start up I get a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    34

    [SOLVED] OpenSuse 10.2 won't startup


    I foolishly changed the mount point of a partition on a HDD which Linux was not in fact using, and now when I try to start up I get a message box stating:-

    Could not start kstartupconfig. Check your installation.

    How do I recover the situation. I do not have an up to date recovery disc. I do have a full bootup disc of Suse 11.2 - could I use the opportunity to update without losing all my personal files, or should I use the old 10.2 disks? The first essential is to get something back up and working.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142
    If I remember well, you can always boot on the old 10.2 disks.
    And use the option repair.
    Or instead of installing, boot the installed system.
    There are several options available.

    You can also make a parted-magic boot cd.
    Boot on it, mount partitions, and change files.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You can boot up in Rescue Mode using Installation CD.
    Or boot up from LiveCD of any Linux distro and reset mount point.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks Guys. I got nowhere with Parted (probably because I'm not too familiar with it), but carefully logged in as root, ran Yast and put the partitioning back to what it was before I changed things, and I'm back in business.

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142
    Well, that's fine!
    It gives you a good feeling if you fix problems by youself, isn't it?

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by toastrack View Post
    Thanks Guys. I got nowhere with Parted (probably because I'm not too familiar with it), but carefully logged in as root, ran Yast and put the partitioning back to what it was before I changed things, and I'm back in business.
    Well Done ! I think you changed Partition Table instead of mount points only.
    I would suggest you to check PartedMagic LiveCD. It has a lot of must have tools for every user.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •