Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I did a bit of searching (on a very slow net connection so forgive me if I missed the answer) but couldn't find what I was after. Keep ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

can't access nagios web interface on network

Hi guys, I did a bit of searching (on a very slow net connection so forgive me if I missed the answer) but couldn't find what I was after.

Keep in mind I'm very new to linux so please be gentle.

I have set up nagios on Suse 11.2 and it is working fine on the localhost. I can access localhost/nagios, <ipaddress>/nagios in the browser and it loads up the nagios webinterface. If I try on a computer on the network with <ipaddress>/nagios the request times out. I have tested that I can ping to and from both machines (nagios machine and the machine I am trying to access the interface from).

Some details:
    Nagios is running in a hyper-v VM. I installed it through yast2.
    Communication is run via a switch and sonicwall firewall but firewall has allow all within the network.

I have a feeling it's some apache2 setting that I haven't configured or something blocking port 80.

Any help would be much appreciated.

can you ping that IP address?

do you have a firewall denying connections to port 80?

try to run

nc ipaddress 80

and type
    GET /nagios/ HTTP/1.1

hit enter a couple times, does stuff spout out at you in HTML?
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

Just Joined!
    Hey thanks for your interest in helping me out.

I tried nc -l <ipaddress> 80

I got this: nc: Address already in use

I couldn't run the GET command because it says GET command not found.