Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
eeebuntu 4 beta uses grub2. If opensuse 11.x is installed as a multiboot, opensuse grub does not recognise eb4. In opensuse, contents of fdisk - l: Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    358

    Multiboot: openSUSE 11.2 and eeebuntu grub2


    eeebuntu 4 beta uses grub2.
    If opensuse 11.x is installed as a multiboot, opensuse grub does not recognise eb4.

    In opensuse, contents of fdisk - l:

    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xbdb18503

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 653 5242880 12 Compaq diagnostics
    Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda2 653 5752 40959036 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 * 5753 15493 78244582+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 5753 6013 2096451 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6 6014 7446 11510541 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 7447 12667 41937651 83 Linux
    /dev/sda8 12668 13500 6691041 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 13501 14473 7815591 83 Linux
    /dev/sda10 14474 15493 8193118+ 83 Linux


    sda2 is winXP
    sda8 is opensuse
    sda10 is eb4

    How do I add eebuntu boot in opensuse?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    You could add the eb4 partition to grub manually in the /boot/grub/menu.lst (be careful and research this first)

    You could also do a native grub install which would detect all of that stuff for you. Google "native grub install", should be the first link. (I would post a link, but I'm too new to the forums to do so)

    Both are risky if done wrong, but both will work if done right.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    From what I've read, GRUB and GRUB2 are not compatible with each other, therefore you'd need to select one and go with that as your boot manager.

    I ran into a LILO issue a few days ago, and installed GRUB out of frustration and desperation. Saw that it was GRUB2, immediately went back to LILO. LOL
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142
    What did you do with sda1, and why is it such a smal partition?
    And why is your xp on sda2 (second partition)?

    Why do you use such small partitions for linux?
    Normally one makes them bigger.
    But also your hard disk is a bit small for such a multiboot.
    It would be better to add a aditional hard disk.
    It would make your linux installs more workable.

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    358
    @linuxforever
    It's a netbook install, so sda1 is what it says: compaq diagnostics - ie a restore partition.
    Most linux installs only need about 8 GB for the root partition - I have a common /home.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •