Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
It self installed successfully and shows up under network cards. However, when I plug it into the network in place of the regular 100mbit card, it won't show up. Any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Suse Samba Server: Installed Intel 1000GT gigabit Network Card, not showing on netwrk


    It self installed successfully and shows up under network cards. However, when I plug it into the network in place of the regular 100mbit card, it won't show up. Any tips? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    can you be more specific what you mean by "it won't show up"?

    it isn't getting a network address? it isn't pingable? please elaborate what your exact problem is

  3. #3
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    Here is the thing about network cards. You plug a 100 mb card into a network that is 10 mb most (but not all) cards will slow down to 10 mb.

    How is the network configured you using hubs or switches does your switch support 1000 mb?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142
    Well gogalthorp, sure that 1000Mbit thing is a big hoax!
    And also 100Mbit I dont reach on my local network.
    But it exceeds the 10Mbit easy.
    It may depend on the OS, hardware and cable (cat5-e).
    But even on cat6 you will not reach 100Mbit probably.
    Whatever hardware manufacturers may claim.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    Quote Originally Posted by linuxforever View Post
    Well gogalthorp, sure that 1000Mbit thing is a big hoax!
    And also 100Mbit I dont reach on my local network.
    But it exceeds the 10Mbit easy.
    It may depend on the OS, hardware and cable (cat5-e).
    But even on cat6 you will not reach 100Mbit probably.
    Whatever hardware manufacturers may claim.
    No question but it is the rate that is negotiated. If for some reason the card can not negotiate an acceptable rate it may not talk to anyone.

    In all cases and a perfect world the network rate is always the slowest card /device on the network.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    gig is a hoax? not on my work network, 40 mb/sec is far beyond 100mbit, i've seen as high as 80mb/sec

    even on my home network i see rates well above 100mbit

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142
    Never heard or seen of it.

    Network connections are measured in bits or kbits (kilo) or Mbits (Mega) because it's a serial connection.
    Windows used to measure this in bytes and one byte is 8 bits.
    So you see a windows 850kb(yte) download transfer for a 8Mbit internet connection.
    In your local network you can see the transfer speed in kbytes, kbits or Mbyte and Mbits.
    If you use a ftp client program for instance.
    If you say 40Mbyte it would mean around 320Mbit.
    If its a 40Mbit then its below the 100Mbits.

    As I said I have never seen or heard of reaching 100Mbit on a local network.
    And all hardware is 100Mbit capabable.
    With copper UTP cable.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    perhaps you are not using cable capable of achieving these speeds, you need at least cat5e, preferably cat6

    i know the difference between bits and bytes, I am a programmer by profession

    I witnessed it with my own eyes today, over 40 MB/sec

    but we are hijacking this thread, waiting on OP to provide more info

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142
    Yes, I too have made professional networks on professional places with both cat5e and cat6 cable.
    To patch boxes and the kind and connect them.
    So I am really used to them.
    It's not a simple home network where I am talking about.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •