Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi, I am wondering if a 32-bit SUSE Linux can run on a board with 4 / 6 core Westmere-EP processor (intel) and 24 GB RAM. It is perfectly ok ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    32-bit Linux and 24 GB RAM


    Hi,

    I am wondering if a 32-bit SUSE Linux can run on a board with 4 / 6 core Westmere-EP processor (intel) and 24 GB RAM. It is perfectly ok if it runs and only 4 GB is used and 20 GB go waste. But, the question will it run straight away? Any tricks needs to be played? Or It is impossible?

    Best Regards,
    Ramesh.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,390
    It will run.
    And with a PAE enabled kernel, you can even use that RAM.
    See here:
    Physical Address Extension - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    But what is stopping you from using the 64bit version of suse?
    Then your kernel can utilize the RAM without ..cheap tricks and without the limitation that a process cannot grow beyond 4GB
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    Actually 32 bit OS's use a max of 3gig . 1Gig of address space is always reserved for the OS. But yes baring any gross hardware strangeness it should run.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,756
    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Actually 32 bit OS's use a max of 3gig . 1Gig of address space is always reserved for the OS. But yes baring any gross hardware strangeness it should run.
    Any single *process* will be limited to 3GB, but a 32 bit OS, with PAE enabled, can use all 24GB RAM. This should be a consideration when choosing a PAE/64 bit kernel - do I need a single process to use more RAM, or do I need more RAM available to the OS for more processes.

  5. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by bvramesh View Post
    I am wondering if a 32-bit SUSE Linux can run on a board with 4 / 6 core Westmere-EP processor (intel) and 24 GB RAM.
    Yes, it should run, but I would agree with Irithori that you should go with the 64-bit version of OpenSUSE and leave the 32-bit version behind (unless 32-bit is your only option for some reason).
    oz

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    11

    It's time to virtualize

    It's better use a 64 bit base Linux and virtualize your 32 bit software, you will have it all !!!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,572
    My opinion - 64-bit chip w/ 4GB or more RAM, use 64-bit OS. I am currently running 32-bit Ubuntu on my laptop w/ 4GB RAM, but I am considering upgrading to the 64-bit version. I run 64-bit CentOS on my 2cpu/8core/8GB workstation. Since I use most of that memory, I'm glad I am running 64-bits native.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5
    Currently we use 32-bit Linux on a board with 4GB RAM. We have certain 32-bit Linux drivers (for some additional HW) delivered by a certain vendor and if we upgrade to 64-bit Linux, we need to buy new 64-bit drivers and we want avoid that in the 1st phase of our hardware upgarde. In the next phase, we want to go to 64-bit Linux, 64-bit drivers from the vendor and 64-bit applications.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21

    why 32 bit ?

    Would it not run better with the 64 bit version ? I use the 64 bit on my desktop and it does really nice stuff ( Ubuntu 9.10 ) waiting for the next step 10.04 to hit the web so I can upgrade to it I am also going to 4 gig of ram on my laptop as I use VirtualBox now and then for some things with Windblows XP in it

  10. #10
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    Quote Originally Posted by lynne14 View Post
    Would it not run better with the 64 bit version ? I use the 64 bit on my desktop and it does really nice stuff ( Ubuntu 9.10 ) waiting for the next step 10.04 to hit the web so I can upgrade to it I am also going to 4 gig of ram on my laptop as I use VirtualBox now and then for some things with Windblows XP in it
    read the post before yours

    Quote Originally Posted by bvramesh View Post
    Currently we use 32-bit Linux on a board with 4GB RAM. We have certain 32-bit Linux drivers (for some additional HW) delivered by a certain vendor and if we upgrade to 64-bit Linux, we need to buy new 64-bit drivers and we want avoid that in the 1st phase of our hardware upgarde. In the next phase, we want to go to 64-bit Linux, 64-bit drivers from the vendor and 64-bit applications.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •