Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
I'm having trouble installing a usb wireless adapter, can anyone help? Code: # lsusb Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub Bus 006 Device 001: ID ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Chi
    Chi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Installing wireless driver from source?


    I'm having trouble installing a usb wireless adapter, can anyone help?


    Code:
    # lsusb
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:c526 Logitech, Inc. 
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 004: ID 0bda:8171 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. 
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    (it came with a linux driver but not sure how to install it)
    Code:
    /2009_1106_RT3070_Linux_STA_V2.1.1.0 (2) # ls
    
    chips    
    iwpriv_usage.txt  
    README_STA_usb     
    sta
    common   
    Makefile          
    RT2870STACard.dat  
    sta_ate_iwpriv_usage.txt
    include  
    os                
    RT2870STA.dat      
    tools
    the readme just has a changelog, no instructions.

  2. #2
    Just Joined! Feeyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54

  3. #3
    Chi
    Chi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Question

    Thanks so much, I really appreciate your help with this but I might have had a PEBKAC issue along the way...not sure where and everything seemed like it worked until this line:
    Code:
    ck06:/home/chi//LinuxWifiDriver/2009_1106_RT3070_Linux_STA_V2.1.1.0 # modprobe rt3070sta
    
    ck06:/home/chi/LinuxWifiDriver/2009_1106_RT3070_Linux_STA_V2.1.1.0 # ifconfig ra0 inet 192.168.10.40 up
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ra0: unknown interface: No such device
    ra0: unknown interface: No such device
    
    ck06:/home/chi/LinuxWifiDriver/2009_1106_RT3070_Linux_STA_V2.1.1.0 # iwconfig ra0
    ra0       No such device
    Here is what I did:
    tar xvjf 2009_1106_RT3070_Linux_STA_V2.1.1.0.bz2
    ls
    cd 2009_1106_RT3070_Linux_STA_V2.1.1.0/
    ./configure
    lsusb
    ls
    cd os
    ls
    cd linux/
    ls
    pico usb_main_dev.c
    zypper install pico
    pico usb_main_dev.c
    cd ../..;make
    make install
    mkdir -p /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA
    cp RT2870STA.dat /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/
    zypper install tofrodos
    dos2unix /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/RT2870STA.dat
    chmod +x /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/RT2870STA.dat
    cp common/rt2870.bin /lib/firmware/
    modprobe rt3070sta
    ifconfig ra0 inet 192.168.10.40 up
    iwconfig ra0
    ifconfig
    UPDATE:

    Tried installing a different driver and now it appears to get something but still cannot get it to work...any ideas?

    (It's a SABRENT USB Dongle and I guess it's using a Ralink driver...I also tried installing the ralink package from the package manager but didn't seem to do anything) openSUSE 11.1

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    In Suse, after you install a new network device/driver, you need to then configure it in YaST. Choose NetworkManager to handle the device instead of ifup/ifdown, it is much easier.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #5
    Chi
    Chi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thank you Paul,
    I'm not sure if it is even installed properly because it's not listed in my NetworkManager... I'm not even sure how to ifup it because I don't think the interface has a name.

    How do I know if it is installed correctly?

    I know my 1st wireless interface is wlan0 but there isn't a second one in the list.
    (I have a built-in wifi adapter and now trying to install a second one (USB with extended range and wireless N)

    # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:23:AE:01:70A
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:16

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:7240 (7.0 Kb) TX bytes:7240 (7.0 Kb)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:BF:86:5D:59
    inet addr:192.168.10.40 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:6807 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4376 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:3526053 (3.3 Mb) TX bytes:1012638 (988.9 Kb)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1C-BF-86-5D-59-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

  7. #6
    Just Joined! Feeyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Try tailing your messages and load up the module to see if you can find out what it is doing exactly.

    Code:
    tail -f /var/log/messages
    Open up another terminal:
    Code:
    odprobe rt3070sta
    Check what the logs are saying. post outcome to this thread please.

  8. #7
    Chi
    Chi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    # tail -f /var/log/messages

    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 nm-dispatcher.action: Script '/etc/NetworkManager/dispatcher.d/autofs' exited with error status 1.
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 SuSEfirewall2: Setting up rules from /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2 ...
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 SuSEfirewall2: using default zone 'ext' for interface vmnet1
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 SuSEfirewall2: using default zone 'ext' for interface vmnet8
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 SuSEfirewall2: using default zone 'ext' for interface wmaster0
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 SuSEfirewall2: batch committing...
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 SuSEfirewall2: Firewall rules successfully set
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 sm-notify[29369]: Already notifying clients; Exiting!
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 nm-dispatcher.action: Script '/etc/NetworkManager/dispatcher.d/nfs' exited with error status 6.
    May 2 22:58:37 ck06 dbus-daemon: Rejected send message, 11 matched rules; type="method_return", sender=":1.223" (uid=0 pid=29027 comm="/usr/lib/NetworkManager/nm-dispatcher.action ") interface="(unset)" member="(unset)" error name="(unset)" requested_reply=0 destination=":1.117" (uid=0 pid=23346 comm="/usr/sbin/NetworkManager "))
    May 2 23:02:50 ck06 su: (to root) chi on /dev/pts/1
    # modprobe rt3070sta
    no output

    Thanks for helping, I feel like a moron for not being able to do this but I guess I gotta learn somehow(Google isn't much help when I don't know what to google for) ...I really appreciate it!

  9. #8
    Just Joined! Feeyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Sorry I made a typo: odprobe should have been modprobe

    But isnt: wmaster0 already your wireless?

    Code:
    ifconfig wmaster0

  10. #9
    Chi
    Chi is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9
    # modprobe rt3070sta has no output


    # ifconfig wmaster0
    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-1C-BF-86-5D-59-0C-DB-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    I have a wlan0 (internal wifi adapter in laptop) and a USB dongle wifi adapter that I am trying to use for extended range and N support ...sorry I should have made that clear.

    I tested the adapter on my friend's laptop w/Windows and it worked fine so I know it works.

    It also says it's supported by Linux on the box so maybe I'll contact the manufacturer and ask them.

  11. #10
    Just Joined! Feeyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    54
    Ok. Clear

    So can you post me the output of: tail -f /var/log/messages (When inserting the usb dongle) please?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •