Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi all, I've got a SuSE box running on a network that can not connect out to any websites. ping google.com ping: unknown host google.com ping 74.125.157.104 PING 74.125.157.104 (74.125.157.104) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5

    ping: unknown host / can't resolve any DNS addresses


    Hi all,

    I've got a SuSE box running on a network that can not connect out to any websites.

    ping google.com
    ping: unknown host google.com

    ping 74.125.157.104
    PING 74.125.157.104 (74.125.157.104) 56(84) bytes of data.

    --- 74.125.157.104 ping statistics ---
    73 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 72019ms

    I'm using a static IP for this PC, but also have tried setting it to a dynamic with the same results. The PC is able to ping the router, but that's about as far as it goes.

    It can also ping other Windows PC's on the network. Those PC's are also able to ping the SuSE PC. The SuSE PC will not ping out to the ISP's DNS server .. just times out.

    Can't see it being an issue with my router, because the Windows PC's will resolve and connect out to the net fine. Kind of at a loss for this one, thanks for any suggestions in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast scathefire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Western Kentucky
    Posts
    626
    be sure you have a default gateway
    Code:
    route
    check your DNS servers
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nslookup www.google.com
    dig www.google.com
    linux user # 503963

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    Have confirmed my /etc/sysconfig/network/routes file has the correct default gateway.

    Also /etc/resolv.conf has correct DNS servers.
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.15.10
    nameserver 192.168.15.12
    hostresorder local bind nis

    nslookup google.com
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

    dig google.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

    I actually tried with [www] in front of google for both of the commands but can't reply with URL's because my post count is too low

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast scathefire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Western Kentucky
    Posts
    626
    can you talk to other DNS servers?
    Code:
    nslookup www.google.com 4.2.2.2
    linux user # 503963

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    Also a negative.

    nslookup google.com 4.2.2.2
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    run the actual route command suggested, so we can see that you do in fact have a default gateway defined.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    SLED10SP2-gk:/home/g# route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    10.187.117.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    default 10.187.117.2 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    So you do have a default route - I assume that ip address (10.187.117.2) is your router, yes?

    Can you verify the ip addresses of your DNS servers? You can do that by other logging onto the router itself and looking up DNS info, or by going to another PC on the network that can connect to the internet:

    if Windows:
    Code:
    ipconfig /all
    if Linux:
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    Yup, verified that earlier.
    Quote Originally Posted by Geekay View Post
    Have confirmed my /etc/sysconfig/network/routes file has the correct default gateway.

    Also /etc/resolv.conf has correct DNS servers.
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.15.10
    nameserver 192.168.15.12
    hostresorder local bind nis

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,307
    That's not what I meant by verifying - I should have said "independent verification", meaning, see if other PCs that can get online report using the same DNS info. but i'm sure you triple-checked that already, just grasping at straws...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •