Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, Im new to linux so Im gonna need some help. I just installed a wireless pci network adapter. Its working fine on my windows xp operating system, but not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to unrar in opensuse 12.1

Hi, Im new to linux so Im gonna need some help. I just installed a wireless pci network adapter. Its working fine on my windows xp operating system, but not on opensuse 12.1. So I downloaded the linux driver off of the manufacturers website and it is a .rar file.... I then downloaded the unrar program for linux on to my flash drive but I dont know how to install it. I tried clicking on the installer package in linux but its not installing. Somebody please help me with this.

Trusted Penguin
    How you install the unrar program depends on the format of the file. Can you list the whole name of the file, or the website where you got it?

Also, are you quite sure that you need the wireless driver? It may be that the Suse kernel already has it. If you are not sure, you can post the make/model/chipset info, etc.

Hello and Welcome!

I agree with atreyu, you may already have the right drivers installed by default.
    Take a look at this page, and post back the requested info:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    How you install the unrar program depends on the format of the file. Can you list the whole name of the file, or the website where you got it?

Also, are you quite sure that you need the wireless driver? It may be that the Suse kernel already has it. If you are not sure, you can post the make/model/chipset info, etc.