Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I am trying to install openSuSE on my computer, but two of my hard drives are not showing up in the partitioning tool, one of which I want to install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy Hard Drive not Showing Up


    I am trying to install openSuSE on my computer, but two of my hard drives are not showing up in the partitioning tool, one of which I want to install on. I have a 64gb ssd used as the boot drive for Windows 7, which doesn't show up, I have a RAID 1 set with 2 1tb hdd drives, which shows up as 4 drives in the partitioning tool, and I have a 80gb hdd, which I want to install on but doesn't show up. Any help would be appreciated, but I'm just a kid, so nothing too complicated. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,847
    If your SSD is pretty new and your install disk for SuSE is quite old, there could be an issue with identifying your drive. It's not often that drives aren't identified by a Linux installer, you could try downloading the newest version of SuSE and seeing if that is any better?

    Of course, you might already have the latest SuSE install - if that's the case you might need a kernel modification, or it might even be that your drive is so new it's not supported yet (although that's unlikely).#

    Another solution might be to put an older drive, if you have one, into the box to use as your Linux system drive.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thank you for the quick response, but it's not the sdd I'm concerned about, it's the hdd. The hdd is 80gb and is from the 2007 ps3 and it shows up in Windows 7 as drive F. My openSuSE disk is from LinuxUser October 27,2011, so it's 12.1 RC1.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,847
    Ok. Does the CD have a 'live' version on it or a recovery mode? Can you boot up off the install CD or DVD and look at your hardware from the point of view of Linux? If you can, then from the command prompt you can list all the attached hard disks with the command '/sbin/fdisk -l' (that's a lower-case L). I know the Fedora installer has an option to hide some of the disks from the partition manager step, perhaps something like that is going on.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    I can see the hardware from linux, and only my raid 1 array is there. I will check the command prompt's point of view.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Here is /sbin/fdisk -l output:


    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0559e618

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 2048 1953503999 976750976 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0559e618

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 2048 1953503999 976750976 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk /dev/md126: 1000.2 GB, 1000202043392 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121600 cylinders, total 1953519616 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0559e618

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/md126p1 2048 1953503999 976750976 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT





    I could try dumping the OS to the drive from windows with dd on cygwin if I need to, but I don't know how.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,847
    The 80GB drive isn't in this list, as you already know. How is that drive connected into your computer? Is it an old-fashioned IDE drive rather than the newer SATA connector? Is it plugged in on a separate PCI IDE card?
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    I know that it is a SATA drive plugged in to the motherboard, but I don't know what SATA port it's plugged in to.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,847
    Unless you have an extremely new sata chipset that is so new it isn't supported yet, then something is masking your 80gig drive. The SATA port it's plugged into shouldn't interfere with the ability of the hardware to see the drive. You don't have the drive hidden some way in the BIOS settings do you?

    I'm running out of suggestions here - the drive should be visible but isn't, it might be time to consider alternative solutions.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    I switched the SATA port on the drive and it installed correctly. But now when I try to boot it up in linux, grub tells me the (hd0,1) doesn't exist. openSuSE sees the drive it's installed on as /dev/sda2. What should I change (hd0,1) to in my grub config file?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •