Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everyone, I am very new to the Linux world, and have never been to big into PC's or IT either. Please bear with me while I lay down the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Epson Thermal Receipt/Label Printer Issue.

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to the Linux world, and have never been to big into PC's or IT either. Please bear with me while I lay down the backdrop to my problem;

Recently my dad took over a small local supermarket and needed a cheap and easy point of sale application.
    Having never more than informally dabbled in PC's and the like, I only know of, but not about, Linux.
    I did some research and after a week or so gave him openSUSE 12.1 on his laptop.(Dual booting either WinXP or openSUSE.)
    I managed to install LemonPOS 0.9.4 rc7 for him using Yast and configured mySQL 5.5 using the included .sql script from Sourceforge.
    He loves the software, he has been "live" in-store for almost a week now and cannot stop telling all and sundry about it. Since he is in his 50's and only really knew how to turn a PC on and check email, this is a small miracle.
    That is the backdrop, here's my problem:

My dad has an Epson TM L60 dual purpose thermal receipt/label printer.
    It has an RS 232 connector and I have a USB to serial adaptor cable.
    I tried using CUPS and Yast to install the printer, but I cannot. I cannot find any help on the net either. (No, seriously, I even tried searching this site three times!! "installing thermal printer using usb to serial converter", "installing printer using usb to serial converter" & "usb to serial converter")
    Can anybody help me?
    My dad is really counting on me to help him since he thinks I suddenly woke up and became this computer guru, even though I play it down at every opportunity.