Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
hello everyone, I'm new to the site, and I have a major concern, I debuted with opensuse 11.1 for the establishment of a VOIP server, but for now I want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    suse 11.1 and ssh


    hello everyone, I'm new to the site, and I have a major concern, I debuted with opensuse 11.1 for the establishment of a VOIP server, but for now I want to install ssh.
    I installed the suse 11.1, I found packages openssh avc command "zypper search openssh" i install these packages questions that were "openssh, openssh-askpass, openssh-askpass-gnome."
    I did the same configuration on two different virtualiseurs and a virtualizer and a physical machine, in a sense ssh works but not the other.
    how, help me

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by guisse View Post
    hello everyone, I'm new to the site, and I have a major concern, I debuted with opensuse 11.1 for the establishment of a VOIP server, but for now I want to install ssh.
    I installed the suse 11.1, I found packages openssh avc command "zypper search openssh" i install these packages questions that were "openssh, openssh-askpass, openssh-askpass-gnome."
    I did the same configuration on two different virtualiseurs and a virtualizer and a physical machine, in a sense ssh works but not the other.
    how, help me
    Hello and welcome,

    Can you go into a little more detail about how ssh is working and how it is not working?

    It is usually helpful to include what commands you've run, any errors you get, and what your goal is.

    Without knowing anything else, I will take a stab, though: have you started the ssh daemon on the servers to which you wish to connect? e.g., as root you'd do:
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/ssh start
    To see if it is running, you can attempt to connect locally, e.g.:
    Code:
    ssh $user@localhost
    substitute your username for $user.

    Also be aware that a firewall (a.k.a. iptables) running on the localhost can prohibit connectivity. Read up on it here.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    response

    hello, thank you for answered
    as I said I have to start in linux and opensuse 11.1
    I installed opensuse as it should.
    I show you the process I apply
    Code:
    zypper search oppenssh
    its my list the packages installed on my SSH distribution
    openssh/openssh-askpass/openssh-askpass-gnome

    Code:
    zypper install openssh
    (openssh-askpass and openssh-askpass-gonme)

    Code:
    rpm-aq | grep ssh
    its displays installed packages

    Code:
    ssh root@168.168.168.x
    password: xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    this is what I've already done. I was trying to connect over ssh, I do not know how

    I have 2 computers on a network with DHCP
    A first computer: @ ip 168.168.168.x
    2nd computer B: @ ip 168.168.168.x
    from A computer I get a view has computer B
    Computer B but I can not view has a computer A
    how can I do?
    Last edited by atreyu; 10-25-2012 at 12:56 AM. Reason: fixed code tags

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by guisse View Post
    Code:
    ssh root@168.168.168.x
    password: xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    okay, the fact that you are getting prompted for a password means that the ssh daemon is working on whatever machine that is. did the login work, after you entered the password? i.e., are you now in a remote shell on the remote machine (you can tell by the shell prompt, for instance).

    I have 2 computers on a network with DHCP
    A first computer: @ ip 168.168.168.x
    2nd computer B: @ ip 168.168.168.x
    from A computer I get a view has computer B
    Computer B but I can not view has a computer A
    how can I do?
    I decipher that to mean that from computer A, you can successfully ssh into computer B.
    However, you cannot ssh from computer B to computer A.

    Is that correct?

    If so, on computer A, run these commands and post their output:
    Code:
    # start the ssh daemon (run as root)
    /etc/init.d/sshd start
    Code:
    # attempt to ssh locally
    ssh $user@localhost

  6. #5
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    OP solved problem by disabling firewall.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •