Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to suse linux, i installed suse 7.3 but can't update to a newer version from yast2 because connections to any ftp server failes, what should i try to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Connection to FTP server failed, what should i do?

I'm new to suse linux, i installed suse 7.3 but can't update to a newer version from yast2 because connections to any ftp server failes, what should i try to disable or turn on to be able to update to a newer suse version? My internet connection is threw a windows 98 server with proxy.

Do you have the proxy set to handle FTP correctly? Do you have *any* connection at all on the SuSE machine? Do you have control of the Win98 machine? If so, why are you using *that* as a web proxy?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Just Joined!
    Well my internet connection is working cause i can surf the web, but when triying to connect threw online update to a server i get connection failed try another server, i dont have full control of the server cause i am in a lan network working on tcp/ip and i know all the settings needed to connect to the server(but maybe only in windows so not so sure), but i think that i maybe missed one but need help to find out which one i missed. Could you tell what do i have to have configured to be able to connect to an ftp server? And am i able to connect to one threw the win98 server? I'm a newbie so try to explain whatever you can, and i still have installed win XP, i have40 gb partitioned in 4, 2 in fat32 2 for linux. The network card is surecom. I hope you can help. Cause i would like to have linux suse 7.3 as default os.

Just Joined!