Find the answer to your Linux question:
As a total newbie to Linux, I have loaded 9.2 and attempted to get the grub menu running as it would only boot from the installation CD. Now the PC ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to Linux - GRUB on boot problem

As a total newbie to Linux, I have loaded 9.2 and attempted to get the grub menu running as it would only boot from the installation CD. Now the PC stops at GRUB after attempting to boot from CD.

I have two HDs on which I also run Win 2k and XP.

I can get into Suse via the CD boot (hence this post) but can't load XP either from the Suze menu.

I found this article http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-19999.html
    but had trouble following it in Suse 9.2.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Many thanks

Just Joined!
    bump

Linux Guru
    Perhaps you can post your partitions information and grub.conf files here. If you can boot SuSE, run 'fdisk -l /dev/hda' as root. The switch following 'fdisk' there, is an L, as in list, not a one. Substitute the 'hda' for the correct designation for each of your hard drives. And when you say it "stops at grub", does that mean it looks like this:
    grub>
    or this:
    GRUB_
    ?
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by drakebasher
    Perhaps you can post your partitions information and grub.conf files here. If you can boot SuSE, run 'fdisk -l /dev/hda' as root. The switch following 'fdisk' there, is an L, as in list, not a one. Substitute the 'hda' for the correct designation for each of your hard drives. And when you say it "stops at grub", does that mean it looks like this:
    grub>
    or this:
    GRUB_
    ?
    thanks (or grazie) drakebasher.