Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I can't run the limewire installation when i click on it, it does nothing and i am having the same problem with crossover. Can someone please tell me how to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15

    CAAAN"T Install LImewire


    I can't run the limewire installation when i click on it, it does nothing and i am having the same problem with crossover. Can someone please tell me how to fix this.

  2. #2
    Linux User gassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    292
    well i dont really know the exact command but try searcing on google for the command u have to change the file permissions[/code][/quote]
    If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane--Jimmy Buffett


    Registered Linux user # 376962

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Omaha NE (USA)
    Posts
    51
    The inability to install in Linux could mean a lot of things, and is hard to answer with so little real info. Howsomever, most applications, including limewire are in a compressed file format when you download the file. Assuming you downloaded it to a folder you have proper permissions for (somewhere in /home), you need to unpack the file (using Ark - - is just a clone of Winzip). Then, after unpacking, go to the directory created when limewire was unpacked, and look for a shell script file (probalby limewire.sh). Then, open a console window, and type ./limewire and press enter. Also, there should be a readme type file (in the same direcory) that tells you in more detail exactly how to install.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15
    Well the only two applications i can't install are the crossover trial. I had it running before and i have also installed limewire before and had no problem. I am using the same one i had last time its limewire.Bin. I can install other things. Is there any way i can fix this

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Omaha NE (USA)
    Posts
    51
    Are you trying to install the linux version of limewire? Or the windows version using crossover? If it's the windows version, I have no idea since I don't need or use windows, and have also no use for crossover. If it's the linux version - check out the limewire site and make sure you have the right files. Since limewire is a Java application, remember, you must have the JRE (java runtime engine) installed.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    15
    Well i seem to have it working now !! Thank you for all your help i very much appreciate it. Thanks again!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •