Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have some linux experience but basically a newbie. I am totally new to Suse and Red Hat based systems. I just installed Suse 9.2 by downloading and burning the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cant startx (newbie just installed Suse 9.2)

I have some linux experience but basically a newbie. I am totally new to Suse and Red Hat based systems. I just installed Suse 9.2 by downloading and burning the mini-install iso. I then completed the installation as inttuscted by using ftp. It took more than 6 hours!. I thought all went great until the end. The system booted to a prompt. I saw the following messages:

runlevel 5 has been reached
    failed services in runlevel5 kbd

I was given a prompt to login so I logged in as root (i was not asked for a password; I never got to that stage in installation?)

I then was given a root prompt and typed startx. The output said "no startx installed".

When I installed I asked for KDE. Did it load?

I rebooted by using Ctrl+Alt+Delete. The boot loader allows me to boot Windows with no problem but when I choose Suse it boots to a prompt to sign in.

Could it be my video card isn't configured? I have an ATI card and tried typing fglrxconfig but command wasn't recognized. I tried xf86Config but it wasn't recognized either. I booted into Windows and googled around, finding two more commmands that I tried. These weren't recognized either: yast and sax2.

Finally I cd to /etc/X11 and tried ./X86Config. It returned almost 200 lines which all stated "command not found"

Please help!

Just Joined!
    Oh never mind!