Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am new to LINUX and have very basic questions. I am planning to install SUSE 9.2 pro on XP(hope the instllation goes off without any issues). I would ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to Linux....some basic clarifications required

Hi,
    I am new to LINUX and have very basic questions.
    I am planning to install SUSE 9.2 pro on XP(hope the instllation goes off without any issues).
    I would like to know if Antivirus/firewall software are required for LINUX OS...
    Do these come included with SUSE or would i have to buy them seperately????if so who are the best vendors providing security solutions for linux?????
    Cheers

Re: New to Linux....some basic clarifications required

Quote Originally Posted by khopdi
    Hi,
    I am new to LINUX and have very basic questions.
    I am planning to install SUSE 9.2 pro on XP(hope the instllation goes off without any issues).
    I would like to know if Antivirus/firewall software are required for LINUX OS...
    Antivirus software is not required for a Linux operating system at this time because quite simply no one is writing viruses for Linux. Firewall software is always a good idea, though. Guarddog is one that I've used in the past, but I'm sure everyone will chime in with their particular favorites. If you still want antivirus software, ClamAV or F-Prot might be worth looking at.

Do these come included with SUSE or would i have to buy them seperately????if so who are the best vendors providing security solutions for linux?????
    Cheers