Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am finally commited to Suse 9.2 after trying so many other distros. I am really new to Linux and trying to get the MS Monkey off my back. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Frustrated - Need help setting up dual boot

I am finally commited to Suse 9.2 after trying so many other distros. I am really new to Linux and trying to get the MS Monkey off my back. I played with Suse 9.0 on an older machine I have around my house and was please with it compared with the other distros I've experimented with; Mandrake, Xandros, Knoppix, Redhat and Fedora.

Problems:
    I have a Sager 5690 Laptop and I'm trying to set up a dual boot system. I need XP for work and I need Linux for home. I currently have XP setup on my system and have used Partition Magic to establish a drive for Suse but the first time I installed Suse 9.2 it made my XP system inoperable and no matter what I did I couldn't recover the drive. So I re-install XP from a ghost that I had but this time I reserved room on the drive for the swap drive and room for Suse. Then I tried to reload Suse on that drive and it wouldn't boot or give me the option to choose. I tried to manual set Grub and that failed and XP went right on booting as if Suse wasn't loaded at all.

Second problem. I tried to set the partition table using the Suse install disk but it wants to be the first drive and will not allow me to chose any other drive. So I moved XP to the last drive hoping that would cure the problems but then Suse would load with no choice for XP

Third problem. I scubbed my drive and set the first drive allocated Suse swap and the second for / and then the 3rd for XP, Suse will only allow me to format that XP drive with FAT and Grub failed to load