Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm new to Linux and I'm thinking of downloading SUSE. However, before doing so could anyone please explain what i386, i586, x86_64 refer to? Does it make reference to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What does i386, i586, x86_64 stand for?

Hi,

I'm new to Linux and I'm thinking of downloading SUSE. However, before doing so could anyone please explain what i386, i586, x86_64 refer to?

Does it make reference to processor architecture? What relevance does it have?

For example, http://www.linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=2 has the option to download SUSE 9.1 Personal (700MB), labeled as i386. Would that be OK for me?

Thanks in advance,

P.

BTW, I have an Athlon XP 2700+ machine.

Just Joined!

Borrowed from a previous posting

The binary RPMs are usually compiled for a specific CPU to gain increased performance by taking advantage of new architecture and instruction sets. Every new generation of CPU has some new features besides just increased clocks.

i386 - is the old 386/486 CPUS
    i586 - Pentuim/Pro and 100% AMD Compatibles like K5 or Cyrix
    i686 - Started with the P II and then the P III and AMD Athlon, Duron, XP

As a general rule, use the one for your CPU. Older versions will run on newer CPUs but newer ones might not run on older CPUs.

I got this explenation on architectures form http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/top...highlight=i386

To give a little more information on that, the X86 processors started with the Intel 8086 processor way back in 1978. They were incrementally improved (80186, 80286) and then Intel released the Intel 386 (i386) in 1980. That was then followed by he 486 (i486), the Pentium (i586), and the Pentium 3/4 (i686) and AMD's Athlon/Duron/T-bird (also i686).