Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I have successfully installed Suse 9.02 although I am a complete newbie to Linux! :P It is installed on a bespoke desktop on it's own 20B hard disk with over ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Suse installed OK but oh so slooooowwwww

I have successfully installed Suse 9.02 although I am a complete newbie to Linux! :P

It is installed on a bespoke desktop on it's own 20B hard disk with over 500mb of RAM. The system monitor reads cpu 100% idle; mem 372mb idle; swap 98% free.

I go and make a coffee while it loads up, it is so slow and from then on it is so labourious!

To make matters worse I am at present I am on dialup waiting for my line to be cleared by BT to sign up for a new provider, so all in all I feel like I am having teeth pulled to use Suse, any ideas what I have done wrong?

Just Joined!
    Might be a problem with ACPI, like the one I had. As a test, at bootup type 'acpi=off' and see if its quickens up. If so, reply and ill give you the solution

Linux User
    And how fast is your CPU? I could never get SuSE to run very well on my 450MHz box, and decided to go with a lighter weight distro, as SuSE seemed more geared towards newer computers
    If your computer is new, though theres no reason that it shouldn't work

I found Suse (9.1) about as fast as windows XP (on the same machine, I ran dual-boot), but the startup was slower than XP. I now run Mepis, which is quite a bit faster (both on startup and afterwards). I have since switched from KDE to Xfce, and now there is no comparison, linux is just so much faster than XP.

One way to get your sistem to boot faster is SysV-init, a program which shows all of the processes that run at startup. You can choose which ones you don't need to be run (very simple to use).
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

Just Joined!

Suse