Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Might seem stupid... but with Suse my internet connection is reeeally slow! Its a week old Suse Install. The same machine ran WinXP a few weeks ago and the net ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
    Posts
    54

    Slow Ethernet (Internet) Connection only on Suse..


    Might seem stupid... but with Suse my internet connection is reeeally slow! Its a week old Suse Install.

    The same machine ran WinXP a few weeks ago and the net speed was a lot faster. I have a WinXP laptop that connects via wifi and even thought it has a low signal strength its a lot faster.

    Ive tried downloading the same file (4+MB) and it struggles on the Suse machine and whooshes by on XP.

    Ive tried Firefox and Konquror and its the same slow speed.

    The Suse Firewall is off. I cant think of anything else to check.. Any Ideas?

    Is there any utility to check the speed im getting on my machine? What could be slowing me down??

    Wondering..
    -gwyneth..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    So are you using a Wireless card or a Wired Connection?

  3. #3
    Just Joined! wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    So are you using a Wireless card or a Wired Connection?
    Wired connection...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    151
    1) Goto the file /etc/modprobe.conf while as ROOT (File Manager-Super User Mode).

    2) Open the file with Kwrite and look for the line ---- alias net -pf 10 ipv6

    3) Change the line to read ---- alias net -pf10 off ipv6 (just add "off")

    4) Save file and close.

    5) Shut down and reboot.

    6) Start your browser (Firefox in my case) and try it.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    To check for line speed or to test for tweaks you can go to www.dslreports.com/test.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
    Posts
    54
    The machine seems to be working fine after a reboot.. I tried making the change anyways...
    Guess its one of those things that comes and goes..
    Thanks for the help though..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •