Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hy, i am kind of new to linux. I just installed suse 9.1 on my athlon xp machine, and everything worked good, i did a full update (yast2 + apt4suse). ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Kde doesnt start, i need help

Hy, i am kind of new to linux.

I just installed suse 9.1 on my athlon xp machine, and everything worked good, i did a full update (yast2 + apt4suse). And after that, when i rebooted, kde didnt start and i get smth like this printed:

failed to connect to X server.
    $display not available
    kde shutting down.

I assume it has something to do with the display monitor, i tryed to tweak the kde-config but no results.

my display is samsung synsmaster 755dfx.

Any ideas?

Thanks for the help in advance

SuSE has a handy little program that will help you configure your X environment (which is what KDE needs to run). Log in as root and run:

Code:
    SaX2
    A graphical window will come up and let you configure things like monitor resolution, mouse driver, 3D acceleration, etc. If you're not worried about getting 3D working right now, you have the option when SaX2 first starts up to just use the default settings (click the "Use these settings" button). Then simply exit without making any changes and you should have a functional desktop the next time you boot.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    Thanks for that tip, but now i get another error message at test stage:

(WW) open apm failed ( /dev/apm_bios) ( no such device)
    (EE) no device detected

I dont get it. I didnt erase nothing, i just updated

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by Malkec
    Thanks for that tip, but now i get another error message at test stage:

(WW) open apm failed ( /dev/apm_bios) ( no such device)
    (EE) no device detected

I dont get it. I didnt erase nothing, i just updated