Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am installing SUSE 9.2 new installation, in the installation settings>partitioning I have: - delete partition/dev/sda2 147.0 GB(linux native) - create swap partition 1.0 GB on/dev/sda2 - Create root partition ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help installing SUSE 9.2

I am installing SUSE 9.2 new installation, in the installation settings>partitioning I have:

- delete partition/dev/sda2 147.0 GB(linux native)
    - create swap partition 1.0 GB on/dev/sda2
    - Create root partition 146.0GB(/dev/sda4 with reiser
    - Set mount point of /dev/sda1 to /windows/C

Can I go ahead with the installation accepting this partitioning without any risk of loosing data in the winxp partition??? I am sorry I am new to Linux and I am not really expert, any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you

Just Joined!
    I forgot to add that I am already running winXP on the disk where I want to install also SUSE 9.2, thank you!

Linux Engineer
    First question. What are your partitions currently set to? Is it just one drive, or more than one?

When I loaded SuSE, I was very particular as to where each partition started and ended. Took some figuring out, but I thought it better to be safe than sorry.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    If you accept that partitioning scheme, Windows will be gone.
    If you go back one step, or select "change" with the "partition" highlighted. You should be able to select to keep Windows.

Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

Just Joined!
    Thank you all for your kind answers, I can select change but in this case how can I keep Windows???

Linux User