Find the answer to your Linux question:
Yes, I am a newbie, but I learn quick and I thought this topic was a little beyond the newbie forum. I have two BenQ-FP737s LCD monitors hooked up to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help configuring dual monitors

Yes, I am a newbie, but I learn quick and I thought this topic was a little beyond the newbie forum.

I have two BenQ-FP737s LCD monitors hooked up to a nVidia GeForce 5900XT (1-DVI, 1-VGA). At one point, I had SuSE 9.2 installed and the card/monitors configured to properly use both monitors for my desk space. Recently, I've deleted the SuSE 9.2 partition, formatted it, and installed SuSE 9.3. I would now like to configure 9.3 to extend my desktop across both monitors. Unfortunately, it has been a while since I configured these devices in 9.2, and, in the mean time, I haven't had much opportunity to tinker with or learn much about Linux -- so I have no idea what I did.

One new thing to throw in the mixture: last time (SuSE 9.2), before I started configuring my dual monitors, the display was cloned - the same picture was on each monitor. This time, my secondary monitor (connected to the VGA-out) has a terribly corrupted-looking display. Picture this: take the top-left quadrant of my main screen (DVI-out), overlay the top-right of my main screen, give it tie-dyed colors and Matrix-esque monitor interference, and that is what you see on my secondary monitor. Assuming that it was a fluke, and that properly configuring X to utilize the secondary monitor would fix the situation, I ignored it and attempted to figure out how to configure dual monitors.

The Googling that I've done:
    >>dual monitors linux
    >>linux twinview
    >>linux twinview how-to