Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I installed suse 10 and I can hear the welcome sound but the monitor shows: OUT OF RANGE 18.6/15MHZ 16.5 AND DECREASES WHAT CAN I DO?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8

    sese 10 monitor problem


    I installed suse 10 and I can hear the welcome sound but the monitor shows:
    OUT OF RANGE
    18.6/15MHZ
    16.5
    AND DECREASES WHAT CAN I DO?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    when grub loads, (You know the screen where you select which OS to boot), press the up or down arrow key to stop the timer. Now just type "init 3" (without quotes).

    You will then be taken into a DOS like prompt, enter your username and password as normal. Then execute the following set of commands:
    Code:
    su -
    <enter root password>
    sax2
    Now within saz2, resetup your monitor correctly, either select the correct ranges, or select a generic monitor and enter the proper ranges (ranges can be found in your monitor manuals).

    Once thats all done, reboot the computer and load up linux as normal.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8
    these are my display info.

    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: RADEON X600 Series
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: RADEON X600 PRO (0x5B62)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5B62&SUBSYS_2106148C&REV_00
    Display Memory: 256.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: SONY SDM-HS74P
    Monitor Max Res: 1280,1024
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6497 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 12/1/2004 10:12:50, 221184 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: n/a
    Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 12/1/2004 10:12:28, 873984 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-1822-11CF-5D6E-0C01A1C2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x5B62
    SubSys ID: 0x2106148C
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: Not run
    D3D7 Test Result: Not run
    D3D8 Test Result: Not run
    D3D9 Test Result: Not run

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    yes, now set it up using sax2. The horizontal and verticalranges will be given in the user manuals. So check there, or google around, then set it up using sax2.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8
    didn't work changed it and its the same.

    sax2 couldn't use coz mice and keybord didn't work

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    How did you manage to change the ranges, if you couldn't use sax2? Well, whereever you changed it, try selecting a generic model for the monitor and see if that helps.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8
    I installed it again. what do you meant by genetic?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    what i mean is when you run sax2, or whatever it is you use to setup the monitor, look on the lefthand site for a list of manufacturers, select generic.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    8
    hoiw can I open this file XF86conf ?? I vas also told that it saves settings incorrectly.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    I don't think suse uses XF86.conf, raher it uses xorg.conf. Anyway to save it, you need root permissions, i.e.

    Code:
    su -
    <enter root password>
    kate /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    kate is a kde text editor, there is nothing stopping you from using gedit, kwrite, nano, vi, emacs or any of the other text editors available to you.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •