Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i was wondering if there is a way to give my account the same powers as the root account either through yast2 or the terminal thx for the help...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48

    root help


    i was wondering if there is a way to give my account the same powers as the root account either through yast2 or the terminal
    thx for the help

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    That would be a serious security error on your part. Are you sure you'd really want to do that?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48
    im the only one that has access to it so security is not realy an ishue to me

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If you are the only user that has local access and you never connect to the internet, you "might" be okay. Otherwise, I'd recommend checking out and installing sudo. That will probably give you all the privileges you really need, but it will also be much more secure than it would if you totally give a user all root privilages.

    Just do a google search for "sudo" to get lots of webpages about it.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Why not just use su from the command line?

    You could, but this is really not recommended, just login as root.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    14
    I've only been using Linux for a couple weeks, but so far as I've noticed, su at command line works fine. And if you're using the gui and you try to do something that requires root, it asks for password. I guess it could be annoying...but it's not worth the security risks, as has been mentioned.

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    If that is what you want, just install Ubuntu!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48
    thanks for all the help i think i will check out those programs mentchiond

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •