Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hey guy's. I'm still very new to using Linux so please talk slowly I'm having some troubles with my screen resolution. On windows xp I always used 1024 x 768. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7

    Screen resolution issue


    Hey guy's. I'm still very new to using Linux so please talk slowly

    I'm having some troubles with my screen resolution. On windows xp I always used 1024 x 768. But now since a couple of day's I run suse 10.0 and I can only chose between 640x480 and 800x600.

    I thought it may be a problem with the driver of my video card but I haven't got a clue where to find the right driver and how to install it.

    My hardware
    Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller (64 MB)
    Intel Extreme Graphics 2
    Digital Flat Panel (1024x76 (12003)

    Anybody who can get on the right way with this?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Hmm, I overlooked it the first time but I just downloaded an RPM with the driver from the intel site and installed it. But It didn't sort out any result. I still can choose only 2 resolutions.


  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    You won't need the driver . Look up the specs of your monitor & graphics card, open up a terminal (be ready to get your hands dirty), become root: su -, type xorgconfig and press enter. Answer the questions, read the explanations. After completion, restart the graphical interface by pressing xtrl+alt+backspace. Now you should have a beautiful desktop with the right resolution .
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Oke, this seemed to go well but I can't get back into the graphical interface

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Have you tried ctrl+alt+backspace? What are the errors you get? Please be more specific...
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    I got no errors.

    ctrl alt backspace dit nothing at all.

    But I tried to run startx and that gave the error given depth (16) is not supported by this driver. I guess it's a good idea to start xorgconfig again?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Have you selected a graphics card driver at all? For nVidia, select the generic nVidia driver, for ATi, the generic ATi driver.

    Yes, it's best if you start it all over again . And selecting 24 bit depth gives you better quality. The 32 bit thingy used by MS is rather empty, it really is 24 bit with something else.

    And remember you need to run this as root!
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Oke, back in buisness after watching some football on tv

    After running xorgconfig again and trying startx I get the following error:
    xf860OpenSerial: Cannot open device /dev/mouse
    No such file or directory
    PreInit failed for input device "Mouse1"
    Couldn't load XKB keymap, falling back to pre-XKB keymap
    No core pointer

    Fatal server error: failed to initialize core devices

    Is this maybe caused because I use a touchpad on my laptop?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    For suse, it is better to use sax2 rather than xorgconfig to configure the monitor and graphics system.

    Just goto a console, run sax2 as root, then once monitors and graphics card has been setup, under the resolutions tab, select whatever max resolution you like, e.g. 1024x768.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Whoesj, that worked hell of a lot faster

    Thanks a lot to both of you guys! You're amazing.

    I will be back soon with more newbie questions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •