Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 55
all sounds. I have no sound at all....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61

    all sounds. I have no sound at all.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    I don't know why, but yast is detecting 2 sound cards, one is Intel 82801DB-ICH4 and the other is AC'97, which it says isn't configured. When I try to remove the Intel 82801DB-ICH4, nothing happens and when I highlight it and click "edit" the window just goes away.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    I don't know why, but yast is detecting 2 sound cards, one is Intel 82801DB-ICH4 and the other is AC'97, which it says isn't configured. When I try to remove the Intel 82801DB-ICH4, nothing happens and when I highlight it and click "edit" the window just goes away.
    Well that would explain why you have no sound, if one card is blocking the other (even if the other card doesn't exist). I'm perplexed as to why your onboard sound is showing up as two devices though...
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    i'm perplexed too

  5. #15
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    1) What is the exact model of your motherboard?
    2) What's the output of
    Code:
    lspci
    3) Are you using the default kernel for Suse 10.0 ?

    I'm gessing here that the module for your soundcard gets loaded after the module ICH4, which seems to conflict your soundcard. If that is true, then there will be a '"simple" fix for that.

    Just post the info I asked and we'll make it work.

    Plus (I'm sure it's not related to that), but have you made sure your username appear in the section "sound" of the file:
    Code:
    /etc/group
    Of course, you can have a lot of fun too trying these links:
    http://alsa.opensrc.org/TroubleShooting
    http://alsa.opensrc.org/faq/
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    1) my motherboard is an MSI MS-6507E

    2) 00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 (Brookdale) Chipset Host Bridge
    (rev 11)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 (Brookdale) Chipset AGP Bridge (
    rev 11)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) U
    SB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) U
    SB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) U SB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Co ntroller (rev 01)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 81)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Br idge (rev 01)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller (rev 01)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Cont roller (rev 01)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH 4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 420] (re v a3)
    02:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW323 (rev 04)
    02:0a.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture ( rev 11)
    02:0a.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11 )
    02:0b.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems LT WinModem (rev 02)
    02:0c.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139 C+ (rev 10)

    3) yes, I am

  7. #17
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    OK, good.

    So your motherboard gets its sound from the "intel 845" chipset, which is based on the popular "intel 810" chipset. Pretty standard.

    If I'm not mistaking, Suse comes with sound compiled as a module.

    Minimally for sound to work with your card you'll need those modules:

    snd-intel8x0
    snd-pcm-oss
    snd-mixer-oss
    snd-seq-oss

    They should be already present with the default Suse kernel.
    (If you check /etc/modules.conf they should be all there.)

    One thing is sure: you don't need special drivers to make this work: intel 810 works perfectly with all distros.

    **********************
    Post the result of
    Code:
    lsmod | grep snd
    **********************

    Myself I use the same chipset as you do.
    I had problem with sound at first.
    Solution: I configured a proper /etc/asound.conf file.
    But, then again I use Debian Sarge.

    For info:
    http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc...odule=intel8x0
    http://opensrc.org/alsa/index.php?page=intel8x0

    Best working /etc/asound.conf I found:
    http://lists.debian.org/debian-lapto.../msg00100.html

    Seems to me that you're not the only one trying to get the sound to work in Suse 10.0.

    It's a bug in Suse 10.0:
    https://bugzilla.novell.com/buglist....&content=sound

    Sorry, it's a bug.

    *********************
    Still, post the result of (as root)
    Code:
    modinfo soundcore
    ***********************

    I'm curious about this...

    P.S. For info on your mobo:
    http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...507-L&class=mb
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #18
    Linux Engineer oldcpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,142

    Another approach

    Another method, if I may suggest, is to delete and re-install your audio driver. No guarantee's this will work, but its simple and straight forward to try.

    Unfortunately, sometimes SuSE won't let you delete the driver. You can try that, and if SuSE-10.0 doesn't let you delete the driver, then check out the last post by "themainliner" in this thread, which may (or may not) be relevant to giving you a solution:
    http://forums.suselinuxsupport.de/in...howtopic=23964

  9. #19
    Just Joined! neopard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    21
    I ran trought a similar problem when I upgraded my Suse 9.3 to Suse 10.

    I fixed the problem today you can find everything you need here

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/vie...=327187#327187

    I hope it's useful

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    antidrugue, here is the output of modinfo soundcore:

    filename: /lib/modules/2.6.13-15-default/kernel/sound/soundcore.ko
    description: Core sound module
    author: Alan Cox
    license: GPL
    alias: char-major-14-*
    vermagic: 2.6.13-15-default 586 REGPARM gcc-4.0
    supported: yes
    depends:
    srcversion: A4DED138106C0A5140A74BE


    I tried the solution suggested by oldcpu and neopard, and it seemed to have worked, getting the correct soundcard recognized and configured, but I still don't have any sound when doing a test

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •