Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55
I just downloaded the drivers for my Realtek AC'97 soundcard, which is a tar.bz2 file. I'm pretty new to this stuff, could anyone tell me how to install this thing?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61

    Realtek AC'97 drivers


    I just downloaded the drivers for my Realtek AC'97 soundcard, which is a tar.bz2 file. I'm pretty new to this stuff, could anyone tell me how to install this thing?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    You might not need drivers for it. Alsa generally configures AC'97 cards (and many other chipsets) out of the box. Are you having trouble with your sound?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    I'm not having any sound at all, so yeah haha

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Stone Mountain, Georgia USA
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    I'm not having any sound at all, so yeah haha
    Have you ever had any sound? Something you might try is (as su in konsole) type:
    alsaconf

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer oldcpu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,142

    Did you try YaST to get sound?

    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    I'm not having any sound at all, so yeah haha
    Try YAST > HARDWARE > SOUND > select your sound card and then dependant on your SuSE version, you go to OTHER > VOLUME > TEST, or OPTIONS > TEST, or TEST. .... Move the sliders all the way to the right.

    Does that give you any sound under test?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by Insane Insomniac
    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    I'm not having any sound at all, so yeah haha
    Have you ever had any sound? Something you might try is (as su in konsole) type:
    alsaconf
    I tried this and I still don't have any sound, I got these errors though....

    Loading driver...
    Shutting down sound driverERROR: Module snd_ac97_codec is in use by snd_intel8x0
    ERROR: Module snd_ac97_bus is in use by snd_ac97_codec
    ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
    ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
    ERROR: Module snd is in use by snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
    failed
    Starting sound driver: intel8x0 done
    Setting default volumes...

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61

    Re: Did you try YaST to get sound?

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu
    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    I'm not having any sound at all, so yeah haha
    Try YAST > HARDWARE > SOUND > select your sound card and then dependant on your SuSE version, you go to OTHER > VOLUME > TEST, or OPTIONS > TEST, or TEST. .... Move the sliders all the way to the right.

    Does that give you any sound under test?
    I had tried this earlier and didn't get any sound from the test, but now that I've ran 'alsaconf' YaST tells me that the AC'97 card isn't configured and when I try to configure it, it gives me an error that says snd-intel8x0 for sound support could not be loaded

  9. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Did you try YaST to get sound?

    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    I had tried this earlier and didn't get any sound from the test, but now that I've ran 'alsaconf' YaST tells me that the AC'97 card isn't configured and when I try to configure it, it gives me an error that says snd-intel8x0 for sound support could not be loaded
    This is really a long shot, but are you sure your onboard sound is turned on in your BIOS?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    61
    if my sound works in Windows, wouldn't it have to be turned on in BIOS?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave
    if my sound works in Windows, wouldn't it have to be turned on in BIOS?
    Are we talking about all sounds here or just CDs?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •