Find the answer to your Linux question:
First of all, I am very new to Linux. I am running SuSE 10.0 (downloaded version) alongside XP Pro. I have struggled to find a mediaplayer that will work at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Kaffeine will not play

First of all, I am very new to Linux. I am running SuSE 10.0 (downloaded version) alongside XP Pro. I have struggled to find a mediaplayer that will work at all. I removed the mediaplyers that were on the system by default using YAST and installed the Win32 codecs, then reinstalled Kaffeine and the plug-in for Mozilla-firefox (got them from Packman). I keep getting the error saying "xine: couldn't find demux". I have searched and searched and have not found an answer to this problem. I'd really appreciate some help, thanks!! I'm really looking forward to learning more about Linux!!

Hi dualboot, this is what i did:

Fristly, i'm assuming you have Packman added to your repositories.
    If so, in Yast, remove these:

• kaffeine
      kdemultimedia3-video-xine
      totem
      xine-lib
      xine-ui

After those are removed, install libxine1, libdvdcss, and xine-ui in Yast (use Packman source)
    Afterwards you can install whatever gui you like: kaffeine, mplayer, xine, etc. (again, make sure you use packman source)

Hope it works!!

Just Joined!
    Sweet!! I guess I was installing stuff in the wrong order or something. THanks alot, worked like a charm!!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Good to know you have it working!!

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by uninvisible
    Hi dualboot, this is what i did:

Fristly, i'm assuming you have Packman added to your repositories.
    If so, in Yast, remove these:

• kaffeine
      kdemultimedia3-video-xine
      totem
      xine-lib
      xine-ui

After those are removed, install libxine1, libdvdcss, and xine-ui in Yast (use Packman source)