Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just got SUSE 10.0 OSS but after the installation finished and the computer restarted a sync out of range error was displayed on my monitor. After reading a bit ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Sync out of range error

I just got SUSE 10.0 OSS but after the installation finished and the computer restarted a sync out of range error was displayed on my monitor. After reading a bit on the Internet I tried a few things listed here:
    • I went into safe mode and ran sax2 but this did not help.

• I tried to find xorg.conf but don't know where it is

• I ran xorgconfig but was scared by what it was asking me

Any help would be greatly appreciated but because I am new to Linux it would be very helpful if you spelled out any solutions. Please ask if further clarification about my problem is needed.

suggestions

Quote Originally Posted by MrTulip
    I just got SUSE 10.0 OSS but after the installation finished and the computer restarted a sync out of range error was displayed on my monitor. After reading a bit on the Internet I tried a few things listed here:
    • I went into safe mode and ran sax2 but this did not help.
    What happened with sax2? I assume you typed su, to get root permissions, then ran sax2? Did you try a very conservative graphic setting first? (such as vesa at a low resolution)?

What hardware do you use?

• I tried to find xorg.conf but don't know where it is
    /etc/X11. But if you found xorgconfig scary, you should find xorg.conf much more scary.
    • I ran xorgconfig but was scared by what it was asking me
    Do some research on the spec's of your graphic card and your monitor. You need the horizontal/vertical specs of your monitor.

Its been years since I had to manually configure an xwindows config file. Not sure how much I can help, but I think I know the questions to ask (such what graphic card are you using? What monitor?).

Just Joined!