Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all. Let me first start by saying that although I'm new to Linux, I'm by no means computer illiterate. I have installed a debian distribution before along with xWindows, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Please help with installation. I'm new.

Hello all.

Let me first start by saying that although I'm new to Linux, I'm by no means computer illiterate. I have installed a debian distribution before along with xWindows, I believe... but that was quite a few years ago. I recently decided that I'm bored with WinXP and want to tinker around with Linux.

I'm not sure what information you guys need, or how I can get further information if there are any log files, but let me start from the beginning:

I downloaded SUSE 10.0 OSS i386 and burned the ISO's onto 5 CD-R's. I believe it's the 32 bit version, as I am running a Pentium 4. The machine I'm using is on dialup, but I have another machine at another location running broadband that is downloading the DVD Evaluation version (32 bit) to see if that will help solve my problems. I checked the MD5 checksums and everything was good. All of the burns were successful. I was able to install, but I did have a LOT of packages that failed to install. Retry didn't help, so I kept clicking ignore. Only 2 packages failed on the first disc, but probably like 50 packages failed on the second disc. Among some I noticed were files that were probably crucial to the GNOME GUI interface. Anyway I continued with the installation and got through to the hardware setup. I booted up the OS and got a login prompt, logged in but all I have is a console. I don't know how to get the GUI started or if it's even viable.