Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I'm trying to create a software mount point and have no idea how to do this... I have no gui installed, it would have to be through a console. PLEASE ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10

    Create Mount Point


    I'm trying to create a software mount point and have no idea how to do this...

    I have no gui installed, it would have to be through a console.

    PLEASE HELP...

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    You mean you want to make a place to mount a drive?
    For example, from a terminal:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/sda1
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    This is what I did...

    I created a /app/oracle/software directory, would like to mount this directory..

    Do I have to created in the /mnt direcotry ?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    Here is the output file.

    After performing the following command

    mount /dev/sda1 /app/oracle/software

    When I ran the "mount" command attached screenshot. How would I added to the /etc/fstab file

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie oryxz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    111
    I wondering why you did burden yourself with all the mount thing. Looking at /dev/sda1, I assume you try to mount a usb disk since sda is commonly for it. It should be automatically mount when you plug the devices.
    Linux User #409695.
    Acer Aspire 5500, Suse Linux 10.1
    Get counted as Linux user [Linux Counter]

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    It was a data file mount point... I used "sda1" for no good reason. What would be the correct moount point used for data file mount point ?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    What are you mounting? You don't mount directories, you mount devices.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    OK,,, What I'm trying to do is the following..

    I currently preping a server running Suse Ent 9 for Oracle Ent Management software.

    One of the steps to setup the file system is to "Create a Software Mount Point and Datafile Mount Point"

    So I created the file system they recommended but they want me to create the monut point for this directory...

    Hope this will help...

    Thanks..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •