Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Ok my soundcard is in my sig. It is Realtek ALC850 AC97. In yast it says my souncard is device 0 and using Driver snd-intel8x0....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    99

    Ok my soundcard is in my sig. It is Realtek ALC850 AC97.
    In yast it says my souncard is device 0 and using Driver snd-intel8x0.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by LordG
    Ok my soundcard is in my sig. It is Realtek ALC850 AC97.
    In yast it says my souncard is device 0 and using Driver snd-intel8x0.
    Did you check your sound mixer? If its installed, and all looks right, its probably your external amplifier. If its on, your sound wont work. And its usually on by default.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    99
    yeah Ive done that.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux User PsypherPunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by LordG
    Ok my soundcard is in my sig. It is Realtek ALC850 AC97.
    In yast it says my souncard is device 0 and using Driver snd-intel8x0.
    Regarding this, is this onboard sound? Sounds similar to the one on my MoBo which would just not, under any circumstances, work. The OS thought it was working perfectly but no sound was coming out. i ended up replacing it with
    an old PCI card which worked first time.
    Registered Linux User #379728

    SuSE 10.3 :: Athlon XP 3000+ :: AsRock K7VT4A Pro :: Nvidia Geforce 6600GT :: C-Media 8738

    www.psypherpunk.org.uk

  6. #15
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by LordG
    Ok my soundcard is in my sig. It is Realtek ALC850 AC97.
    In yast it says my souncard is device 0 and using Driver snd-intel8x0.
    Try opening up a terminal, logging in as root by typing su followed by your root password, and typing this:
    Code:
    alsaconf
    Does your sound card show up? Does it say it's able to configure it?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    99
    yes it shows up and it's able to be configured

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •