Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, im new to Linux and after setting up a fedora/windows xp dual boot on a PC i decided to do the same on my laptop but with suse. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Suse 10.0 boot problems

Hi, im new to Linux and after setting up a fedora/windows xp dual boot on a PC i decided to do the same on my laptop but with suse.

I did had an initial problem with some partitions from a previous linux install attempt. I went into windows and got rid of these so as to start fresh. After this the install went without a hitch.

After CD1 had completed the system restarted and i got an error when it went to boot from the hardrive. it was set to use GRUB and the error returned was #15. After this i went though some of the repair options, it picked out some packages which wernt installed but was then uable to complete an install of them. As at this stage it was looking a bit of a mess i decided to reinstall it from the start using the same options as before. Again it did not work so i installed again this time i selcted the lilo boot loader and had ACPI disabled. Again after CD1 the system rebooted and when i when to boot from the hard drive all i got was L and then '04', whatever i done or pressed returned '04'.

From here i can simply reinstall windows but seeing as the windows partition is still sitting there intact i would like to know if i can somehow boot to it. Ideally i would like the origional suse/xp setup i had hoped for.

Thanks in advance for any relies

If your XP partition is still there and intact, all you need to repair is your Master Boot Record. You can do this by booting with your XP install CD, and when it tells you "Hit R to enter a Recovery Console", do it. From the Recovery Console type this:

Code:
    FIXMBR
    That should restore your Master Boot Record and allow you to boot MS Windows.