Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I tried to start Winw by hitting Alt F2 , writting Wine and Enter . It doesn't start , and I Installed it when I installed my suse 9.3 . ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    70

    Wine Start


    I tried to start Winw by hitting Alt F2 , writting Wine and Enter . It doesn't start , and I Installed it when I installed my suse 9.3 . How can I start it otherwise ?

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    have you run winecfg to configure it yet ?

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Wine doesn't do anything when called by itself. As a tool for running Windows programs, the way to use it is to type wine followed by the name of the Windows Program, e.g.
    Code:
    $ wine GoogleEarth.exe
    Make sure you're in X when you use it (running it from an x-term is best).
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    70
    when I run winecfg it tells me : it tells me the winecfg tool is not yet complete .. and smth .. and that I shoud look at fiel ~/ .wine/config , andf I looked , but I can't understand what that file is all about .. can someone help me ?

  6. #5
    Linux User PsypherPunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    257
    Sounds like you're on an earlier version of wine - winecfg is functional in more recent versions and ~/.wine/config is defunct.

    Get the most recent version via winehq.org and try it then.
    Registered Linux User #379728

    SuSE 10.3 :: Athlon XP 3000+ :: AsRock K7VT4A Pro :: Nvidia Geforce 6600GT :: C-Media 8738

    www.psypherpunk.org.uk

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    70
    Actuallly, after that error message ,the configuration window does start(I realised that just now) , and I tried to add a Windows exe (it was Winword.exe) , and hit OK, and then I ran "wine winword.exe" and it said it didn't find it . What should I do ?

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie usblackhawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    241

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by aral
    Actuallly, after that error message ,the configuration window does start(I realised that just now) , and I tried to add a Windows exe (it was Winword.exe) , and hit OK, and then I ran "wine winword.exe" and it said it didn't find it . What should I do ?

    Im having exactly the same problem... and i have no clue!

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Make sure:
    a. You have a copy of winword.exe, and
    b. You're in the directory where winword.exe is when you run the wine command, or use the full path in the wine command (e.g., wine /home/zelmo/windowsprograms/winword.exe).
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie usblackhawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    241

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Zelmo
    Make sure:
    a. You have a copy of winword.exe, and
    b. You're in the directory where winword.exe is when you run the wine command, or use the full path in the wine command (e.g., wine /home/zelmo/windowsprograms/winword.exe).

    great stuff man, thanks for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •