Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hi This is my error msg: "Writing device SONY - DVD RW DRU-710A is automounted. Automounting can cause problems with CD/DVD writing, especially with rewritable media. Although it might all ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    30

    K3b error


    Hi

    This is my error msg:
    "Writing device SONY - DVD RW DRU-710A is automounted.
    Automounting can cause problems with CD/DVD writing, especially with rewritable media. Although it might all work just fine it is recommended to disable automounting completely for now.
    Solution: Replace the automounting entries in /etc/fstab with old-fashioned ones."

    Found /etc/fstab, I am root. But not knowing an old-fashioned entry what do I enter?

    Thanks

    Drew

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    add noauto to stop it from automounting i.e.
    /dev/dvdrecorder /media/dvdrecorder yyyyyyy noauto,xxxxxxx 0 0
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    30

    noauto response

    Dear Alex

    Thanks for the prompt reply. My fstab entry seems to already have that.

    "/dev/dvdrecorder /media/dvdrecorder subfs noauto,fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocha rset=utf8 0 0"

    At a loss now.

    Yours
    Drew

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie uninvisible's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    224
    Hi Drew, i seem to remember having a similar message some time ago on an older version of k3b. Was this the first time you ran the program? What version are you using, it may be a good idea to install the latest version in Yast.
    Linux. Get Counted!! http://counter.li.org/

  5. #5
    Banned CodeRoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    567
    First, make a backup copy of your 'fstab' file. Then, try changing the line to this:

    Code:
    /dev/dvdrecorder /media/dvdrecorder udf ro,user,noauto,unhide 0 0

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    30

    Unhappy K3b error

    Dear All

    I am using using openSuse Slick and K3b is 0.12.14-3.pm.1. If I just recap the problem. I used it for the first time yesterday to backup onto CD and DVD, recieved the error warning (in the original) and now get the error msg
    "Could not mount device.
    The reported error was:
    mount: can't find /dev/hda in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab" when I try to read any DVD/ CDs.

    The PC is set up to read the DVD drive on first boot and does this with bootable DVDs, which is how I installed Linux.

    I tried Coderoots' suggestion but that has not helped.

    Appreciate the help.

    Drew

  7. #7
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Ok then, can you post here your /etc/fstab file, along with the results from this command:
    Code:
    ls -l /dev | grep dvd
    Also, how are your drives setup (both cd/dvd and hard drives)?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    30

    unable to mount

    Dear Alex

    Sorry I am not paying attention I meant CD not DVD.

    Here is the result:
    linux:/home/drew # ls -l /dev | grep cd
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2006-04-02 21:02 cdrom -> hdb
    linux:/home/drew #

    Here is the fstab:
    /dev/hda3 / reiserfs acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/hda1 /windows/C vfat users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8=true 0 0
    /dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom subfs noauto,fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocha rset=utf8 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy subfs noauto,fs=floppyfss,procuid,nodev,nosuid,sync 0 0
    none /subdomain subdomainfs noauto 0 0

    The laptop is set to boot from the CD drive then the HDD. The HDD is dual boot with Windows XP

    The error msg recieved is "Could not mount device.
    The reported error was:
    mount: can't find /dev/sda1 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab"

    Thanks for the help


    Drew

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    that's the error k3b gives you? your CDRECORDER is /dev/hdb and it says can't find /dev/sda1? that's weird. do you have an external CD/DVDRECORDER via USB?

    i believe this has nothing to do with your /etc/fstab entries. i have both my CD and DVD drives' entries' in my /etc/fstab file commented out (w/ noauto attribute set), and both still work fine as to reading from media or writing to it, CD and/or DVD. submount/subfs and HAL should take care of the mounting since SuSE 9.3.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Quote Originally Posted by drew_boardman
    The error msg recieved is "Could not mount device.
    The reported error was:
    mount: can't find /dev/sda1 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab"
    Did you have an usb flash drive or something similar plugged in when trying to access k3b? And does this error happen always.

    Your fstab entries are similar to mine and I don't recieve the error message you are recieving on my system.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •