Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, I have just upgraded to Suse 10.0 (from 8.2) after installing a new SATA disk and DVD burner, both detected with no problem. The installation via FTP went smoothly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Suse 10: 1) Shows 2 processors? 2) Reboots often?


    Hi,

    I have just upgraded to Suse 10.0 (from 8.2) after installing a new SATA disk and DVD burner, both detected with no problem. The installation via FTP went smoothly without problems. I have SUSE 10 now for 4 days.

    However, I can't say am happy yet as I have a few problems. The 2 major ones are:

    1)
    I have 1 processor (Intel P4) but it shows 2 in YAST Hardware Info ?
    I mean it duplicates the info of the same physical processor so it appears twice.
    It also shows 2 processors in /proc/cpuinfo; they are identified as ID=0 and ID=1

    This is the header of 'top' command :

    # top - 16:28:57 up 1:57, 5 users, load average: 0.01, 0.00, 0.00
    # Tasks: 95 total, 1 running, 94 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    # Cpu0 : 0.7% us, 0.3% sy, 0.0% ni, 99.0% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
    # Cpu1 : 0.3% us, 0.3% sy, 0.0% ni, 99.3% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si

    Again it shows 2 Cpu 0 and 1 ?

    The kernel is: 2.6.13-15.8-smp (I know that '-smp' stands somehow to Multi-Processor) but I don't need multiprocessors here ?

    Any Idea how to fix this ? And what made it think so ?


    2)
    My second major problem is that my machine keeps rebooting like once a day usually during the night when it is standing for hours ?
    I don't know again what made it do so, as before with Suse 8.2 on this machine
    I used to run it for couple months without rebooting ?

    Any ideas or suggestions on how to fix this too ?

    Thanks a lot,
    M

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    it sounds like your computer has Hyper-threading enabled, so it looks like it has two processors.

    for the rebooting, take a look in /var/log/messages to see if there is any pointer as to why it reboots.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    1) Dual core processor or hyperthreading?

    2)Check the power settings, maybe something in there. Otherwise is it overheating? Is it a specific time? Check in logs too

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3
    1) Desabled the Hyperthreading in the BIOS. Now it shows only one Cpu cool.
    Thanks for the hint.

    FYI, First I changed this in the boot loader by adding noht but didn't work: it kept showing 2 cpu.

    2)
    - No there is no particular over-heating.

    - I looked in the log file couldn't find anything weird in my knowledge ? or may be
    don't know what exactly to look for and also don't know at what time it rebooted ?
    Is there something particular to grep for in the log file ?

    - The power setting is on the scheme 'Performance' which I think is the best choice for a desktop ?

    Thanks,
    M

  5. #5
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    well look for something like "init 6" or "rebooting" and see what the lines prior to the ones which contain the search terms say.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •